Voice Institute Scholarship



A Plan for Continuing Education




This project is for the purpose of encouraging better laryngectomy rehabilitation education for our laryngectomee members. Informed members can help with improving the flow of information on our WebWhispers forum and email lists. They will be more capable of helping new laryngectomees, improving hospital visitations, and assisting in their local clubs, thereby fulfilling our WebWhispers goals of education and rehabilitation.

We firmly believe in the IAL Voice Institute and have set up a program to subsidize the attendance of any WW member attendees at the Voice Institute which is held in conjunction with the IAL Annual Meeting each year. Registration may be as a Voice Institute Pupil (VIP) or as a Laryngectomee Trainee (LT).

Our requirements are that each individual attend all planned classes for their category and, for those who meet those requirements, a grant of $100.00 will be presented at the annual WW banquet (or via mail).

This program has been in effect for first time attendees and with limited numbers since 2003 and was previously financed, at $80 per student , by special donations and the WebWhispers general fund. Effective with the IAL 2006 in Schaumburg, IL, this project will be financed by the Edmund and Lillian Lauder Laryngectomee Support Fund, sponsored and underwritten by Lauder Enterprises of San Antonio, TX, and by additional special donations to WebWhispers for this purpose. If you wish to help in this support, please note that your donations are for this fund.



There are the two laryngectomee categories according to the IAL/VI rules:

(1) Voice Institute Pupils (VIP's) are laryngectomees who attend the IAL/VI primarily to learn more about their own situation and improve their speech while serving as demonstration subjects for SLPs and other trainees in the Voice Institute. They are welcome to attend all the sessions, but are only required to attend when specifically requested.

The Voice Institute Pupil (VIP) is interested in improving his/her own communication. The pupils are often newer laryngectomees and IAL first timers, but not always. Part of their sessions are spent having SLP's and LT's working to help them with their voices.

(2) Laryngectomee Trainees (LT's) are laryngectomees who attend all sessions of the IAL/VI. And, if they wish, they may take the IAL test at the end of the course. After passing the test and completing a one year internship under the supervision of a trained speech pathologist, they may elect to be listed in the IAL Directory of Alaryngeal Speech Instructors.

The Laryngectomee Trainee (LT) is interested in helping others gain effective communication. Laryngectomee Trainees must be well rehabilitated and at least two years post-op.

We are proud and happy to be able to continue support for the Voice Institute and ask that WW members who wish to apply for this grant, personally notify us AFTER registering for the VI (as VIP or LT) and include the following information:

Full Name
Email Address
Residence Address
Home Telephone
Date of Laryngectomy

Email the above information to: scholarship@webwhispers.org

Additional information relating to the Voice Institute may be obtained at the current year IAL Meeting pages. See left menu for choices.

Home page for the IAL is https://theial.com/


scholarship applicants - 2015

Diane Almada,Toms River, NJ

Jody Ann Black, Tooele, UT

Lynn Foti,Akron, OH

Jay Hauben, New York, NY

David Kinkead, Peoria, AZ

Richard Kitchen, Louisville, Ky

Steven Nettles, Chesapeake, VA (feeding tube)

Carl A Strand Jr, Mystic CT



scholarship applicants - 2014

Mike Casteel, Alliance, OH

Charles Coleman, Skaneateles, NY - (cancelled)

Robert McQueen, Norfolk, VA

Bill Smith, Santa Barbara, CA

Tom Whitworth, Powder Springs, GA


scholarship applicants - 2013


Robert Bauer - Hayward, CA

DeWayne Boesen - Kenesaw, NE

Franklin Fisher, Lakewood, WA

Ann Hall - Everett, WA

Wilma Husak - Yuba City, CA

Carol J Johnson - Richland, WA

Jack Luft - Spokane, WA

Ann Mathias - Langley, BC

Jim Miller - Spokane, WA

William Shoemaker - Gig Harbor, WA

Bill Smith - Santa Barbara, CA

Carl van Rossum - Alberta, CAN

Ed Woodruff - Seattle, WA

13 final total

Jim Wangen - Kennewick, WA  (cancelled)

Garo Odabashian - North Hollywood CA (cancelled)

scholarship applicants -2012


DeWayne Boesen - Kenesaw, NE

Herb Boteler - Virginia Beach, VA

Louise Brown - Winston-Salem NC

Patricia Brown - Custer, SD

H. Mike Clark - Pembroke Pines, FL

Randy Drew - Newport News, VA

BJ Elmore - Mount Airy, NC

Joyce Hidey - Archdale, NC

Ginny Huffman - Atlantic Beach, FL

Wilma Husak - Yuba City, CA

Don Johnson - Burnaby B.C. Canada 

Kenneth Martin - Melfa, VA

Roger Mackenzie - Haverhill, MA

Frank O'Brien - Portsmouth, VA

John R. Perkins - Aylett, VA

Peter Powell - NYC, NY

Mohan Raj - Jayanagar, Bangalore, India

Jack Ramos - Hudson, FL

Brad Russell - Jacksonville, FL

Marilyn T. Sensabaugh - Walnut Cove, NC

Bruce Sherrill - Cleveland, NC
Thomas Wilson - Indianapolis, IN


Total 22

scholarship applicants -2011


Rick Kitchen - Tampa, FL

Patricia (PADI) Brown - Custer, SD

Jim Eitel - Telford TN

Angeline L Leu-Smith - Lincoln, NE

Kevin Berry - Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Anita Lewis - Divide, CO

Jesse Shockley - Kansas City, KA

Steven Israel - Hampton, FL

H. Michael "Mike" Clark - Pembroke Pines, FL


scholarship applicants -2010


H. MIchael Clark - Pembroke Pines, FL

Belinda J. Elmore - Mt. Airy, NC

Marlene E. Haynes - Joplin, MO

Rick Kitchen - APO (Lakenheath Suffolk, UK)

Ronald Leek - Joplin, MO

Charles C. Moore - Lancaster, SC

James "Rev" Raley - Houston, TX


Please have your scholarship request to us by June 12, 2010


scholarship applicants -2009


Murray Allan - Richmond, British Columbia

Linda Bakara - Gilbert, AZ

Robert Bauer - Hayward, CA

Majella Best - Oshawa, Ont, Canada

Carol Hale - Sacramento CA

Noor Ali G Haider - Karachi-Pakistan

Wade Hampton - Norwood, NC

John McComb - North Hollywood, CA

Phyllis E Mcmullen -Taneytown, MD

Brian Nelson Nagle - Novato, CA

Ed Roe - Delta, British Columbia

Chuck Smith - Oneonta, NY

Pat Smith - Gresham, OR

Timothy Stone - Stockton, CA

Jeff Vanden Hogen - Appleton, WI

Tom Watts - Riverbank, CA




scholarship applicants - 2008

Kay Allison

Ed Chapman

Tom Cleveland

Bob Eimer

Jean Frank

Joyce Hidey

Edward Higgins

Bruce (Buck) Martin

Phyllis McMullen

Tom Olsavicky

Roger Silberman

Jeff Vanden Hogen

Ted Zehelein

Dave Wade

Present Total 14



Scholarship applicants - 2007


Bob Anderson

Phil Benadum

Don Blaisdell

Ed Chapman

Herbert Clements

Rayner d'Andrade

Frank Fagan

Fay Flanary

Steven Israel

Steve Krank

Bruce (Buck) Martin

Gary Morey

George Ostranger

Chris Rowlands

Sheldon Schultz

Carl Strand

Jeffrey Vanden Hogen


Scholarship applicants - 2006


Fred Armani

Thomas Cleveland
Francine Fambrini

Phyllis McMullen
Ronald Neubert

Linda Rainbow
Pam Ridgeway

Gary Sparks
Jane Varner